Tesla Optimus Gen 2
Price from
Pros
- 173 cm and 57 kg, 10 kg lighter than Gen 1
- Hands with 11 degrees of freedom and touch sensors
- 30% faster walking per Tesla
- 20 kg arm payload
Cons
- Not for sale, internal testing only
- USD 30,000 price is an unofficial estimate
- Not available in Poland
- 173cmHeight
- 20kgPayload
- 57kgWeight
Key facts
- Estimate (midpoint of a price range)approx. 116,300 PLN* (≈ EUR 26,650)
- Specificationsheight 173 cm · payload 20 kg · weight 57 kg
- Statusprototype
- Availability in Polandnot confirmed
- VerdictA reference point for Gen 3, not an offer; buyers should look at models that are actually available.
Summary
- ManufacturerTesla, Inc.
- CategoryHumanoid robots
- Statusprototype
- Availability in PolandNo confirmed distributor in Poland
57 kilograms, 173 centimeters and hands with 11 degrees of freedom and tactile sensors on every finger: that is Optimus Gen 2, the second-generation Tesla humanoid shown in December 2023. Compared with its predecessor, Tesla claims a 10 kg drop in weight and a 30% faster walk, and a new two-axis neck design is meant to improve head range of motion.
The arms' payload reaches 20 kg, which puts the robot in a similar range to industrial manipulators, although Optimus remains a bipedal prototype tested internally in Tesla's factories, not a product sold to customers.
The price of USD 30,000 (about PLN 116,300 (≈ EUR 26,650) at the NBP rate of 1 October 2026) is an unofficial estimate from Wikipedia, not a catalog figure confirmed by Tesla; Elon Musk has mentioned a long-term target price close to USD 20,000, but that is a statement, not an offer. The model is not available in Poland or anywhere on the consumer market, and the manufacturer has still not disclosed a sales channel.
Gen 2 has since been superseded by Gen 3, so today its role is mainly as a reference point in the history of the project, alongside Gen 1.
Photo gallery
-
Photo: Steve Jurvetson, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 2.0; resized and converted to WebP -
Photo: Ulkl, Wikimedia Commons, Public domain; resized and converted to WebP -
Photo: Premeditated, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0; resized and converted to WebP
Specs
Data checked: · Sources: 3
Data from manufacturer datasheets and product pages; median over the models of this category in the database.
-
Height173 cmin line with the category median (169 cm, n=220)
-
Weight57 kg−10% vs. the category median (63 kg, n=192)
-
Payload20 kg+186% vs. the category median (7 kg, n=166)
- category medianA higher value doesn't always mean a better robot; it depends on the application.
Dimensions and weight
- Height
- 173 cm
- Weight
- 57 kg
Motion and manipulation
- Hand degrees of freedom
- 11
- Payload
- 20 kg
Electronics and AI
- Drive
- electric (planetary roller screw actuators)
- Sensors
- Touch sensors on all fingers
Price and availability in Poland
Estimate from Wikipedia; Tesla has given no official date for a price.
Running and deployment costs
Purchase: there is no official price. The value of USD 30,000, or about PLN 116,300 (≈ EUR 26,650) at the rate of 3.8762 from 1 October 2026, is an estimate from Wikipedia, based partly on a statement by Elon Musk in October 2024 (the "We, Robot" event), not on a price list. Musk has also mentioned a long-term target price close to USD 20,000; that is a statement, not an offer. In practice you cannot buy this robot, so operating costs, service and training remain hypothetical. As an estimate, if the model did go on sale in roughly this price class, the full cost to a company would be many times the price of the robot itself: integration, workplace safety, operator training and IT support. We do the math for such machines in “Humanoid Robot TCO: How to Calculate Total Cost”, and we compare general market prices in “How Much Does a Humanoid Robot Cost in 2026”.
Dealers in Poland
No confirmed distributor in Poland
Applications
What it's for
Optimus Gen 2 is Tesla's humanoid from December 2023, and today its main job is to serve as a prototype and template for later generations. It stands 173 cm tall, weighs 57 kg, and has hands with 11 degrees of freedom and tactile sensors on every finger, plus a 20 kg arm payload. Tesla points to its internal factories as the test site: the robot is meant to perform repetitive tasks alongside people, moving parts, sorting them, stacking them. We have seen it in demos: in September 2023 Tesla showed Optimus sorting blocks and holding yoga poses, and in December 2025 it appeared in London, greeting the audience and handing out popcorn, and in Berlin. Industrial application: “Factories and manufacturing”. Keep in mind, though, that Gen 2 is not a product: it is a development stage tested inside the company, and since the launch of Gen 3 its role has come down to being a reference point. The drive relies on actuators with a planetary roller-screw gearbox, covered in more detail in “Actuators in Humanoid Robots”. Consumer uses, for instance in homes, Tesla announces for later models, not for this generation.
Typical applications
Who it's for
Makes sense for: readers who want to understand the starting point of the Optimus program before the third generation, market analysts and people following the humanoid race. Gen 2 serves here as a benchmark for comparisons: 173 cm, 57 kg and a 20 kg payload are the parameters the whole later family is measured against. Who it is not for: anyone planning a purchase. The robot is not sold, and Tesla has not disclosed a sales channel. It is unavailable in Poland and, importantly, cannot be ordered even in the USA. If you are looking for a humanoid for a production hall, look at designs you can buy or rent; a comparison is in “Tesla Optimus: What We Actually Know (as of September 2026)” and in the humanoid robots category.
Deployments
Gen 2 is tested only inside Tesla's factories; there are no outside customers. Its public appearances (London, Berlin) were demonstrations, not work for customers. Humanoids with industrial pilots today are Apptronik designs (a collaboration with Mercedes, see “Apptronik Apollo in Mercedes-Benz Factories”) and Agility Robotics (“Agility Digit in Warehouses”), plus Chinese UBTech models in car plants.
Comparison
If you are interested in what Tesla plans next, read about Tesla Optimus Gen 3: the same height and mass, but 28 DOF, hands with 22 degrees of freedom and an idea of navigating with cameras alone. For home use Tesla is preparing a separate track: Tesla Optimus. Among humanoids of similar size with real deployments behind them, check Figure 03 (172 cm, 61 kg, 35 DOF, 20 kg payload) and Apptronik Apollo (173 cm, 25 kg payload, 71 DOF), developed with Mercedes factories among others in mind. For warehouse logistics there is Agility Digit 5 with a 22.7 kg payload. And if you actually want to buy a humanoid, Unitree H2 costs USD 29,900 and has Polish distribution. To compare against the history of the project itself, also read Tesla Optimus Gen 1, the first, now retired version, and Atlas, the electric Atlas, with which Optimus is often paired in industry discussions of humanoids for factory work.
Similar models
- prototype
concept- prototype
discontinued- on sale
- on sale
History
The first Optimus concept dates to September 2022 (Gen 1, now retired from the project lineup). In September 2023 Tesla showed the robot sorting blocks and holding yoga poses. December 2023 brought Gen 2: 10 kg lighter according to the manufacturer, with a 30% faster walk and a new two-axis neck. In June 2024 Musk announced limited production in 2025; in October 2024 came the estimated price of USD 30,000. June 2025 brought a change at the head of the program: Milan Kovac left and Ashok Elluswamy took his place. In late 2025 Optimus appeared publicly in London (13 December) and Berlin (20 December). In 2026 Tesla is installing production lines in Fremont and Gigafactory Texas, and in September it showed Gen 3 with a battery of about 2.3 kWh and the AI5 chip; supply-chain reports speak of production on the order of 1,000 units a week by the end of September (reports, not confirmation from Tesla).
Model unveiled
Musk says the Optimus Gen 3 unveiling will come closer to the start of production; assembly lines are being installed in Fremont and at Gigafactory Texas Tesla, Inc.
Tesla begins installing the Optimus production line at its Fremont factory; no customer deliveries yet Tesla, Inc.
Tesla shows Optimus Gen 3 (V3) with hands featuring 50 actuators/22 degrees of freedom, a battery of about 2.3 kWh, the AI5 chip and a Grok voice; a public demonstration of factory work is expected in late September/October 2026 Tesla, Inc.
Supply chain reports: Tesla is heading toward about 15,000 Optimus units in 2026, with production reaching about 1,000 units per week by the end of September Tesla, Inc.
Sources
Frequently asked questions
Is the Tesla Optimus Gen 2 available in Poland?
No. The Tesla Optimus Gen 2 is a prototype or research platform with no commercial offer in Poland; any sale would be announced by the manufacturer (USA).
What are the dimensions and weight of the Optimus Gen 2?
173 cm tall and 57 kg, which is 10 kg less than the claimed weight of Gen 1.
How much does the Tesla Optimus Gen 2 cost?
There is no official catalog price. The estimate of USD 30,000 (about PLN 116,300 (≈ EUR 26,650)) comes from Wikipedia, not from Tesla.
Is the Optimus Gen 2 still the current model?
No, it has been superseded by Gen 3; Gen 2 remains a development stage tested internally in Tesla's factories.
Author, source and licence of the photo are given in the caption. Shop links may become affiliate links in future, details: How we make money · How we check