Knowledge

Humanoid Robots in Factories 2026: What Really Works and What Is Just an Announcement

BMW, Mercedes, GXO, Amazon, Foxconn: which humanoid robot deployments in factories are real, which are pilots, and which are just PR.

In this article
  1. Humanoid Robots in Factories: More Announcements Than Production Lines
  2. BMW Group and Figure AI: The Best-Documented Case
  3. Mercedes-Benz and Apptronik Apollo: A Pilot, Not a Deployment
  4. GXO Logistics: An Evaluation, Not a Permanent Warehouse Crew
  5. Amazon: Tests at Selected Sites, Not Standard Equipment
  6. The Chinese Front: UBTech Walker S2
  7. Tesla Optimus and Boston Dynamics Atlas: Announcements Without Confirmed Scale
  8. What Is Real, What Is a Pilot, and What Is an Announcement: A Table
  9. Why the Distinction Matters to a Buyer
  10. Methodology of This Article

Key facts

  • Models coveredFigure 03, Apptronik Apollo, Agility Digit
  • Covered models available in Poland0 of 4
  • Number of sources15
  • Reading time8 min
  • As of2 October 2026

Humanoid Robots in Factories: More Announcements Than Production Lines

2026 brought a wave of press releases about humanoid robots "working" in the factories of the world's biggest industrial groups. The reality is more granular: alongside a few documented, measurable deployments there are many more pilots, trial agreements and announcements without confirmed numbers. This article separates those three categories using official manufacturer statements, press releases from industrial groups and independent trade media, not the marketing materials of the robotics startups themselves.

BMW Group and Figure AI: The Best-Documented Case

The pilot of the American Figure 03 (earlier Figure 02) at BMW Group's plant in Spartanburg, South Carolina, is the only case in this roundup where the carmaker itself publishes concrete data (the number of vehicles supported and the duration), with the robot maker adding working hours and parts counts. According to BMW Group's statement of 25 June 2026, the Figure 02 robot supported the production of more than 30,000 BMW X3 vehicles over ten months in 2025, inserting sheet-metal parts into fixtures in the body shop before welding (BMW Group). In its summary of 19 November 2025, Figure AI says the deployment lasted 11 months (10-hour shifts, Monday to Friday) and that the robot logged more than 1,250 working hours and loaded more than 90,000 parts (Figure AI); BMW does not repeat those two figures in its release. BMW had described the first, several-week test of Figure 02 in Spartanburg back in August 2024 (BMW Group).

Its successor, Figure 03, is according to BMW's release of 25 June 2026 to start work in Spartanburg on a new task: sequencing components in assembly-hall logistics (sorting unsorted components into sequencing trolleys), under a "Physical AI" project (BMW Group). Figure AI itself says, in a release of 29 April 2026, that more than 350 Figure 03 units had been delivered from its BotQ factory and that output rose from one unit per day to one unit per hour in fewer than 120 days (Figure AI). That, however, is data about robot production, not about the number of units working in parallel in Spartanburg, a figure BMW has not disclosed. The unit price of Figure 03 remains unstated; the deal is a B2B fleet contract.

Takeaway: this is the only case in this article that meets the criteria of a real, measurable production deployment, and it is limited to one plant and one specific body-shop task, not a whole assembly line; the next stage (Figure 03 in logistics) is only beginning.

Mercedes-Benz and Apptronik Apollo: A Pilot, Not a Deployment

On 15 March 2024, Mercedes-Benz and Apptronik announced a "commercial agreement to pilot" the Apptronik Apollo robot in production facilities (Apptronik; confirmed by the University of Texas at Austin, where Apptronik originated). The very name of the agreement points to a trial stage, not a permanent deployment. Apollo was to be tested, among other things, delivering totes of kitted parts (The Robot Report). There are no published figures for the number of units, working hours or a timetable for moving to series production.

In February 2026, Apptronik raised USD 520 million at a USD 5 billion valuation (CNBC). That confirms investor interest, but it is not proof of the scale of industrial deployment; according to CNBC, Apollo is being tested in factories and warehouses with partners Mercedes-Benz and GXO Logistics.

GXO Logistics: An Evaluation, Not a Permanent Warehouse Crew

GXO Logistics, which describes itself as the world's largest pure-play contract logistics provider, is running an early-stage proof-of-concept program for the Apollo robot with Apptronik, described in company statements as a test, not an operational deployment (The Robot Report). Meanwhile, GXO was in 2024 the first company to deploy the Agility Digit (Digit) from Agility Robotics commercially, at a Spanx facility in Georgia under a robots-as-a-service model (The Robot Report); Agility's named customers also include Schaeffler, Amazon and Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada (from a pilot with three robots to a planned seven more). The distinction matters: Digit has a longer, better-documented commercial history (Agility claims more than 65,000 working hours in production conditions — Agility Robotics), while the GXO-Apollo relationship is still at the test stage.

Amazon: Tests at Selected Sites, Not Standard Equipment

Amazon appears among the companies that The Robot Report lists as deploying Agility's robots (The Robot Report); Agility describes its early work with Amazon as moving bins off a put wall (The Robot Report). There is, however, no confirmed, independently verified data on how many centers are involved or whether Amazon plans to make it permanent equipment across its logistics network. Until that is confirmed, this relationship should be treated cautiously, as an early one.

The Chinese Front: UBTech Walker S2

The Chinese manufacturer UBTech Robotics, listed on the main board of the Hong Kong stock exchange since December 2023 (UBTech), presents the Walker S2 on its own site as a robot in mass production and delivery, with autonomous battery swapping in about 3 minutes (UBTech). Outside Figure/BMW, this is the only case in the roundup of a robot claimed to be delivered commercially on a larger scale, but the scale remains opaque: the number of units delivered and a customer list are not confirmed in a primary source, and the unit price is not published. Until independently confirmed, the number of units actually working at customers should be treated as manufacturer data.

Tesla Optimus and Boston Dynamics Atlas: Announcements Without Confirmed Scale

Tesla Optimus Gen 3 is the humanoid robot most often mentioned in the media, and at the same time has the least verified operating data of the cases described here. Tesla says it tests Optimus internally in its factories, but it has not officially published generation 3 parameters (height, weight, degrees of freedom) or data on specific production tasks, working hours or unit counts. All specifications circulating online come from third-party sites (aggregators), not from a Tesla statement. Until official confirmation, Optimus should be treated as an internal project at the testing stage, strongly supported by marketing communication but without a verified production status.

Boston Dynamics (controlled by Hyundai Motor Group) unveiled the product version of its fully electric Atlas at CES on 5 January 2026, but all 2026 deployments are already committed: the fleets are to ship to Hyundai's Robotics Metaplant Application Center (RMAC) and Google DeepMind, with additional customers to be added in early 2027 (Boston Dynamics). Production deployment at Hyundai Motor Group plants is an announcement (Boston Dynamics' release gives no date for it), not a current line deployment.

What Is Real, What Is a Pilot, and What Is an Announcement: A Table

Company / robot Status as of September 2026 Category
BMW Spartanburg + Figure 02/03 Figure 02: 30,000+ X3s supported (BMW), hours and parts (Figure AI); Figure 03 starting in logistics Real deployment (limited)
Agility Digit + GXO/Schaeffler/Toyota/Amazon Commercial RaaS since 2024 (GXO), >65,000 hours in total (manufacturer data) Real deployment (limited, manufacturer data)
UBTech Walker S2 Claimed mass production and delivery, scale and customers unverified Manufacturer claim, scale unclear
Mercedes-Benz + Apptronik Apollo Agreement of March 2024 explicitly called a "pilot", no unit count Pilot
GXO + Apptronik Apollo Called a "test"/evaluation at one center Pilot/test
Amazon + Agility Digit Mentioned among Agility's customers, no detail on scale Early relationship, scale unknown
Boston Dynamics Atlas + Hyundai RMAC All 2026 deployments committed (RMAC, Google DeepMind) Announcement, not a current production deployment
Tesla Optimus in Tesla factories No official data on tasks, hours or unit counts Mainly marketing communication, production status unconfirmed

Why the Distinction Matters to a Buyer

For a production department weighing robotization, the difference between a "pilot" and a "production deployment" translates directly into availability, price and risk. None of the manufacturers described yet publishes a unit price list for industrial customers outside pilot fleet agreements. That contrasts with “How Much Does a Humanoid Robot Cost in 2026”, where consumer prices (such as the Unitree G1 or the announced 1X NEO home model) are already public. Remember, too, that a humanoid robot competes in practice with cheaper and more mature solutions: cobots and mobile robots have years of industrial deployment history, standardized safety norms (“Robot Safety Standards”) and usually a much lower total cost. The comparison “Cobot or Industrial Robot” helps assess when a humanoid is genuinely justified and when it is a premature investment in technology still at the pilot stage.

The humanoid robots category in our catalog tracks all the models mentioned in this article, along with their status (pilot/on sale/announced) and updated sources; we discuss market forecasts for the whole segment separately in “Humanoid Robot Market Forecasts”. We describe Polish companies working on robot integration and manufacturing in “Polish Robotics Companies”. As of publication, none of the manufacturers in this article has a confirmed deployment or distributor in Poland.

Methodology of This Article

The "real / pilot / PR" classification rests solely on: (1) official press releases from the company receiving the robot (for example BMW Group, not just Figure AI), (2) independent trade media (The Robot Report, CNBC, South China Morning Post), and (3) the manufacturer's official pages, where they do not contradict points 1-2. Where figures came only from the robot maker's marketing materials without confirmation from the industrial customer, this is marked explicitly as "manufacturer data" or "no confirmed independent data". Unit prices of the industrial robots described above remain unpublished in most cases and should not be estimated or extrapolated from the prices of consumer models.

Frequently asked questions

Are humanoid robots actually working in factories around the world?

Yes, but only to a narrow extent. The most advanced documented deployment is Figure AI at BMW's Spartanburg plant: a specific task in the body shop (loading sheet-metal parts for welding), with the number of vehicles supported given by BMW (BMW Group) and working hours and parts handled given by Figure AI. Most other cases (Mercedes-Benz, GXO, Amazon) are still pilots or evaluation tests, not permanent production lines.

How many humanoid robots actually work at the BMW plant?

BMW and Figure AI have not disclosed the total number of units active at the same time in Spartanburg. The known figures are more than 1,250 working hours and more than 90,000 parts loaded during the 11-month Figure 02 deployment (Figure AI's summary of 19 November 2025 — Figure AI), and more than 350 Figure 03 units delivered from the BotQ factory by the end of April 2026 (Figure AI). That is the number of robots produced, not the number working in parallel in Spartanburg. The hours figures come from the robot maker.

Is Tesla Optimus working on Tesla's production lines?

Tesla says it is testing Optimus internally in its factories, but there is no verified data on scale, working hours or specific production tasks. All technical data for generation 3 (height, weight, price) comes from third-party sites, not from an official Tesla release, and should be treated as unconfirmed.

Are humanoid robots already available in Poland for factories?

No. None of the manufacturers described in this article (Figure AI, Agility Robotics, Apptronik, Boston Dynamics, UBTech) has a confirmed distributor or sales offering in Poland as of publication. All the deployments described are in the US, Germany and China.

Which manufacturer has the longest history of real deployments?

Agility Robotics with its Digit robot. Its first commercial deployment (GXO Logistics at a Spanx facility in Georgia, 2024) was under a robots-as-a-service model (The Robot Report), and the company claims more than 65,000 cumulative working hours in production conditions (Agility Robotics); its named customers include GXO, Schaeffler, Amazon and Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada. According to SEC filings its 2025 net sales were USD 1.8 million (The Robot Report).

Sources

Links to the material this text is based on. Before you base a decision on a figure from the article, check it at the source.

  1. press.bmwgroup.com/global/article/detail/T0444265EN/successful-test-of-humano…
  2. press.bmwgroup.com/global/article/detail/T0458778EN/bmw-group-advances-the-us…
  3. therobotreport.com/gxo-logistics-apptronik-test-apollo-humanoid-robot-warehouse
  4. ati.utexas.edu/apptronik-and-mercedes-benz-enter-commercial-agreement-to-pilo…
  5. therobotreport.com/agilitys-digit-5-humanoid-has-new-legs-batteries-safety-up…
  6. ubtrobot.com/en/humanoid/products/walker-s2
  7. cnbc.com/2026/02/11/apptronik-raises-520-million-at-5-billion-valuation-for-a…
  8. bostondynamics.com/blog/boston-dynamics-unveils-new-atlas-robot-to-revolution…
  9. figure.ai/news/production-at-bmw
  10. figure.ai/news/ramping-figure-03-production
  11. apptronik.com/news-collection/apptronik-and-mercedes-benz-enter-commercial-ag…
  12. therobotreport.com/mercedes-benz-testing-apollo-humanoid
  13. therobotreport.com/toyota-motor-manufacturing-canada-deploys-agility-robotics…
  14. agilityrobotics.com
  15. ubtrobot.com/en/about/news

About the authors

Robolupa editorial team Prepared by · Editorial team; texts are prepared with AI tools
Joshua Kantner Publisher · Publisher

A chief engineer by profession (technical head of a ship's machinery plant, licensed). Sets the site's editorial rules and is responsible for them; he does not read every page before publication.

Texts are prepared by the editorial team using AI tools. We compare data with primary sources on a sample basis, not page by page. Our rules are described here: How we check · About us

From the article

Robots mentioned in the article

Model cards with a PLN price and availability in Poland. Every figure has a source on the model page.

  • Figure 03
    on sale

    Figure AIHumanoid robots

    Figure 03

    Figure 03 is Figure AI's industrial humanoid (172 cm, 61 kg, 35 DOF), already working at BMW; no public price, not sold in Poland.

    • 172 cmheight
    • 20 kgpayload
    • —price
  • Apptronik Apollo
    pilot

    ApptronikHumanoid robots

    Apptronik Apollo

    Apptronik's Apollo is a modular humanoid tested by Mercedes-Benz and GXO Logistics - no public price, available only in B2B pilots.

    • 173 cmheight
    • 25 kgpayload
    • —price
  • Agility Digit (v4, current fleet)
    on sale

    Agility RoboticsHumanoid robots

    Agility Digit

    Digit v4: 15.9 kg payload, 4 h run time, and over 65,000 production hours at Amazon, GXO and Toyota.

    • 15.9 kgpayload
    • 4 hruntime
    • —price
  • Tesla Optimus Gen 3
    concept

    Tesla, Inc.Humanoid robots

    Tesla Optimus Gen 3

    Tesla Optimus Gen 3: unconfirmed specs (28 DOF, 22 DOF in the hand), no official confirmation from Tesla; consumer availability est. no earlier than 2028-2029.

    • 173 cmheight
    • 20 kgpayload
    • —price

Knowledge

Related articles

all articles